Metadata Overview Event Metadata Person Metadata Place Metadata Source Metadata

Records and fields in the Enslaved Metadata documentation reflect the type of information many scholars extract from historic slave trade materials as well as how they structure this data for analysis. Enslaved developed its metadata in collaboration with a team of historians of slavery in order to build an interconnected system of tools to search, browse, visualize, and analyze disparate datasets. The resulting Enslaved Metadata documentation defines four record types commonly used in historic slave trade data projects: EVENT, PERSON, PLACE, and SOURCE. There are 43 Enslaved fields: 9 EVENT fields, 3 of which are required; 19 PERSON fields, 2 required; 9 PLACE fields, 3 required; and 6 SOURCE fields, 5 required.

We would like to acknowledge the following people who contributed to the development of the Enslaved Metadata documentation.

Ryan Carty (Michigan State University), Luísa Cruz (York University), David Eltis (Emory University), Ina Fandrich (New Orleans African American Museum), Jessica Fletcher (Vanderbilt), Catherine Foley (Michigan State University), Henry Louis Gates (Harvard University), Daniel Genkins (Vanderbilt University), Seila Gonzalez Estrecha (Michigan State University), Gwendolyn Midlo Hall (Rutgers University), Kathe Hambrick (River Road African American Museum), Walter Hawthorne (Michigan State University), Paul LaChance (University of Ottawa), Jane Landers, (Vanderbilt University), Sharon M. Leon (Michigan State University), Paul Lovejoy (York University), Henry Lovejoy (University of Colorado), Keith McClelland (University College London), Érika Melek Delgado (York University), Jeff Mixter (OCLC), Steven J. Niven (Harvard University), Dean Rehberger (Michigan State University), Jim Schindling (West Virginia University), Kara Schultz (Vanderbilt University), Alicia M. Sheill (Michigan State University), Angela Sutton (Vanderbilt University), Duncan Tarr (Michigan State University), Bruna Tine (York University), Daryle Williams (University of Maryland), and Ethan Watrall (Michigan State University)